Local co-ops & social enterprises

Below is a list of co-operative and social enterprises, currently mainly focused around Brighton & Hove, for people to find out what currently exists. It includes workers’ co-ops, co-operative and social enterprise consortiums, housing co-ops, energy co-ops, financial co-ops, mutuals, Credit Unions, community co-ops, food co-ops, co-op development bodies, co-op experts, Community Interest Companies and other types of social enterprise. This list is not comprehensive, so if co-ops or other social enterprises are missing or have been categorised incorrectly, please email us at mais@riseup.net. None of the organisations or people below are officially affiliated with MAIS. See also the directory run by Co-operatives UK, for a good, but less comprehensive list of co-ops in Brighton. The B&H Social Enterprise Network also a directory of some of the social enterprises in the city

Workers’ co-ops 
Infinity Foods (shop, cafe, wholesale branch) http://www.infinityfoods.co.uk/ http://infinityfoodskitchen.co.uk/ http://www.infinityfoodswholesale.co.uk/
Magpie Recycling http://www.magpie.coop/
Bartleby’s brewery http://bartlebysbrewery.com/
EarthSea wholefoods co-op http://earthseacoop.com/
Sail Boat Project http://www.sailboatproject.org
Brighton Community Compost Centre (a workers’ co-op?) http://www.brighton-compost.coop/
Pencil & Paws http://pencilandpaws.co.uk/
Kindlings Outdoor Play And Education Co-operative https://www.facebook.com/Kindlingsoutdoorplay
Foodshed Brighton http://www.foodshedbrighton.com/
Muir-Walker Medics Co-operative http://www.muir-walker.coop/
Diversis Artibus https://www.facebook.com/diversisartibus.ltd?fref=ts
The Bike’s the Business (active?) www.thebikesthebusiness.co.uk/
Co-op/Social Enterprise consortiums
Mutual Aid in Sussex https://maisnetwork.wordpress.com/
Stanmer Organics http://stanmerorganics.com/
Co-operative Housing in Brighton & Hove (CHIBAH) http://chibah.org/
South East regional for The Co-operative https://www.co-operativememberevents.coop/coop_ems/co-operative-membership-regions-SouthEast.aspx
Co-operatives South East http://cooperatives-se.coop/
Brighton & Hove Social Enterprise Network http://www.bhsen.co.uk/
Community Works http://www.bhcommunityworks.org.uk/
Purple Dot http://www.purpledot.org/
The Brightoneers http://www.meetup.com/The-Brightoneers/
Social Enterprise East Sussex http://socialenterprisees.com/
Housing co-ops
Co-operative Housing in Brighton & Hove (CHIBAH) http://chibah.org/
Diggers Self Build Housing co-op http://www.forevergreen.org.uk/Forever_Green_Ecological_Architects/diggers-self-builld-housing-co-op.html
Brighton Rock Housing Co-operative Limited http://brightonrockcoop.org/
Skylark http://skylarkhousingcoop.wordpress.com/
Out of Town http://outoftowncoop.wordpress.com/
Ringo Housing Co-op (The Borg) http://www.radicalroutes.org.uk/list-of-members/housing-co-ops/ringo.html
Brighton Woodwych Housing co-op http://chibah.org/woodwych/
Dryad http://www.ecoopenhouses.org/media/case%20study%20-%20golf%20drive.pdf
Lorgan
Monkey Puzzle  http://chibah.org/monkey-puzzle/
Two Piers  http://twopiers.coop/
Veganic Co-housing http://www.veganiccohousing.com/
South Down Eco-housing http://www.cohousing.org.uk/south-downs-eco-housing-cooperative
Sussex Cohousing http://www.sussexcohousing.org.uk/
Rosa Bridge
Hornbeam
Bug
Hedgehog http://www.forevergreen.org.uk/Forever_Green_Ecological_Architects/Hedgehog_Self_Build.html
Bunker – a self-build housing co-op http://bunkerselfbuild.tumblr.com/
Energy Co-ops
Brighton & Hove Energy Services Co-operative Ltd (BHESCo) http://bhesco.co.uk/
Brighton Energy Co-op http://www.brightonenergy.org.uk/
Community Energy South http://www.communityenergysouth.org.uk/
Ovesco http://www.ovesco-ips.co.uk/index.html
Financial Co-ops, mutuals and Credit Unions
East Sussex Credit Union http://www.eastsussexcu.org.uk/
Co-op bank local branch (now mostly owned by hedge funds)  http://www.co-operativebank.co.uk/global/branch-finder
Nationwide (mutual)  http://www.nationwide.co.uk/support/contact-us/branch-finder
Community Co-ops
Cranks http://cranks.org.uk/
The Cowley Club http://cowleyclub.org.uk/
The Bevy? http://thebevy.co.uk/
Goodwill co-op http://www.emmausbrighton.co.uk/shopOnline/default/TheGoodwillco-op.asp
Brighton Jazz co-op http://brightonjazzco-op.blogspot.co.uk/
University of Brighton Bicycle CO-OP https://www.facebook.com/Bricycoop
RE:CYCLE (bike hire) http://www.sussexstudent.com/organisation/recyclebikehire/
Exeter St Hall http://www.exeterstreethall.org
New Roots Growing co-op http://bhfood.org.uk/new-roots
Food Co-ops
Allganics http://bhfood.org.uk/food-buying-groups-coops
University of brighton Food Coop http://uobfoodcoop.wordpress.com/
SCOOP (Sussex Uni) http://www.sussexstudent.com/organisation/scoop/
Sussex Shoots (Sussex Uni) http://www.sussexstudent.com/organisation/shoots/
Sheep Share http://brightoncommunityagriculture.org.uk/
Catchbox http://www.catchbox.coop/
Co-op Development/consultancy Bodies /Professionals
South East Co-operative Support http://www.secs.coop/
Co-operative Business Consultants (CBC) http://www.cbc.coop/
Co-operantics http://www.cooperantics.coop/about/
Co-operative Assistance Network http://www.can.coop/
Co-operatives South East http://cooperatives-se.coop/
Dave Boyle http://daveboyle.net/
Mike Aiken http://cru.open.ac.uk/mike_aiken.php
SE Assist https://se-assist.co.uk/sussex/
Community Interest Company’s
Saltdean Lido http://saltdeanlido.co.uk/
East Brighton trust http://www.eastbrightontrust.org.uk/
Brighton Open Market Community Interest Company http://www.brightonopenmarket.co.uk/about-us/site-history/
Actually Community Interest Company http://www.actuallycic.org/
The Werks (includes Coachwerks) http://www.werkshop.org.uk/
The Big Lemon http://www.thebiglemon.com/
Hisbe http://hisbe.co.uk/
Purple Playhouse Theatre http://purpleplayhousetheatre.com/
Thriving Planet http://www.thrivingplanet.org.uk/
Brightpip CIC http://www.brightpip.co.uk/
Didi DIY http://didi-diy.com/
Grow Mindfulness CIC http://www.growmindfulness.org/
Goodmoney CIC http://www.goodmoney.co.uk/
Parentskool CIC http://www.parentskool.co.uk/
Storycraft Marketing http://www.alexbrenan.com/
Drum United http://www.drumunited.org/
Open Strings http://openstrings.co.uk/
Other types of social enterprise
The Platform Social Enterprise Ltd (previously Care Co-ops) – a Company Limited by Guarantee http://www.theplatform.org.uk/
The Wood Store Brighton http://www.woodrecycling.org.uk
Synergy Centre http://www.thesynergycentre.org/
Free University Brighton http://freeuniversitybrighton.org
Stoneham Bakehouse http://stonehambakehouse.org.uk/
FotoDocument http://www.fotodocument.org/
Planet Feed http://www.planetfeed.org/
ZLS Theatre http://www.zlstheatre.org.uk/
Engage & Create http://www.engageandcreate.com/
The Big Fig http://www.thebigfig.co.uk/
New Note Orchestra http://www.newnote.co.uk/
Healthwatch Brighton and Hove http://www.healthwatchbrightonandhove.co.uk/
Social Enterprise Theatre http://www.socialenterprisetheatre.com/
Aquaponic Life CIC http://aquaponiclife.org/